March 11, 2010

b3sci MIXTAPES: Darkchild


b3sci mixtapes: darkchild. for three years between 1998 to 2000, producer rodney “darkchild” jerkins was on total absolute fire. during that period jerkins hit the top 10 of the billboard hot 100 7 times (including 4 No. 1’s). i mean, seriously, “the boy is mine”, “say my name”, “if you had my love”, “angel of mine”……just a crazy run. i’ve always been drawn to darkchild’s production style (dude could put me up on a toni braxton song.) ….the mix of acoustic guitar, the subtle multi-layered rhythms, the keyed countermelodies, and the just killer (and usually pretty interesting) chorus hooks. the guy still puts out big records, in ’08 he had a top 10 hit with the pussycat dolls “when i grow up” and did much of the production on janet jackson’s “discipline” record. right so lets go, darkchild ’99.

download the FULL mixtape here

01. Toni Braxton – He Wasn’t Man Enough
02. Mariah Carey – So Lonely (Feat. Twista)
03. Shareefa – Need a Boss (Feat. Ludacris)
04. Whitney Houston – It’s Not Right, But It’s Ok (Rodney Jerkins Smooth Mix)
05. 1 Accord – Don’t Stop (Darkchild Remix)
06. Destiny’s Child – Lose My Breath
07. Tiffany Evans – I’m Grown (Feat. Bow Wow)
08. Jennifer Lopez – If You Had My Love
09. Pussycat Dolls – When I Grew Up (Darkchild Remix) (Feat. Lil’ Wayne, Diddy & Fatman Scoop)
10. Kierre Kiki Sheard – You Don’t Know
11. Michael Jackson – You Rock My World
12. Natasha Bedingfield – Angel
13. Aaliyah – One in a Million (Darkchild Remix)
14. Spice Girls – Holler
15. Kenny Latimore – Days Like This (Darkchild Remix) (Feat. Q-Don & Sonny Black)
16. Andrea Martin – Let Me Return the Favor
17. Brandy – Top of the World (Feat. Ma$e)

Reviewed by